Skip to content

Hitting rock bottom

July 13, 2011

Doesn’t this happen to us all at some point or another? While working on my beach wedding article, I came across so many photos of myself from 3 years ago looking svelte, happy, and admittedly, about 15 pounds lighter.

And so if that’s not a wake up call, I don’t really know what is. Apparently the too-tight pants and jeans, bulging tummy and round face weren’t enough to truly put me over the edge. I’ve gotten to a place in which I’m just not happy with my body and have decided that it’s time to take action! Along with Christine, I have joined Weight Watchers!

I am so excited about this. I had first joined Weight Watchers before my wedding in order to have some structure in getting fit, healthy and happy. At that time, I lost about 15 pounds. It’s taken me 3 years to gain all of the weight back and I’m ready to lose it once again 🙂 Not to mention that we will be jetting off to Aruba in less than 3 weeks. Yipee!

So what is my strategy for getting it done the Weight Watchers way? After spending some time researching around their very comprehensive (and very awesome) website tools and getting some guidance from Christine, I came up with a few healthy options that are low in points but high in deliciousness!

Smoothies. I know I talk about them all the time, but they are just about the best thing ever. I had to adjust some of my measurements to lower the fat and carb intake, but for 5 points, I created a banana-spinach protein shake that works every time!

yummy green monster

I also plan to go crazy on my favorite salads. Greens are free, so it just comes down to the add-ins. I’m keeping it healthy by making my own dressing and measuring out goat cheese, fresh or dried fruits and any lean chicken.

Luckily, I’m a big fruit eater and WW encourages lots of fruit eating. Hurrah! Summer has the best fruit ever, so I can’t wait to dig in to these bits of deliciousness.

Lastly, and this was Christine’s suggestion, is veggies + hummus. A couple tablespoons of hummus goes a long way in terms of filling the tummy. Paired with crunchy carrots, this is a perfect snack!

So that’s how I’m rolling these days and I’m pretty excited about it. I can’t wait to share more with you once I start devising healthier and more delicious recipes! So what do you think? What are your favorite healthy snacks?

– Rachel

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 8:45 pm

    yay for weight watchers! i fell off a bit this weekend because i went away but i’m confident that come thursday i’ll still be in good shape. keep it up sista!

  2. July 25, 2011 4:52 pm

    So excited about your new blog! I’ve been a WW fan forever and re-joined this winter when I needed some structure. It is slow but it works:-) Oh, and I can still eat what I bake:-)

Trackbacks

  1. A Peach of This « The Peach & The Pit Of It

Leave a Reply

