Skip to content

Obsessing Over: Ray Bans + DIY Tortilla Chips

July 26, 2011

Posted by Rachel

As you’ll soon find out, I can be…obsessive.

And that might be an understatement. Once I get something in my head, sometimes I just can’t get it out. Last week, I went to get new glasses (after wearing the same ones for like…10 years. Don’t judge me.). While I was there, I couldn’t help but wander over to the sunglasses section. Like I said, I couldn’t help it. I love them. And I’m obsessive.

I own a beautiful pair of Kate Spade sunglasses that my Dad bought for me. I heart them. So I kind of feel like I’m cheating (on my sunglasses) by admiring these pretty Ray Ban Original Wayfarers in red, no less. I never used to be a fan of the Wayfarer look. But I guess my tastes have changed because I can’t seem to get these out of my mind! Lens Crafters, I may be back this week in advance of my Aruban vacation. Just don’t tell Kate.

In addition to discreetly researching sunglasses, I am also obsessing over a creation, which I can say with full certainty, has made my life better. DIY tortilla chips! With these crispy, salty creations, I can still enjoy my chips without the guilt. Can I get a hurrah up in here?

This is one of the easiest recipes you will ever find. It requires 15 minutes and only 3 ingredients. Intrigued?

DIY Tortilla Chips
3-5 8″ tortillas
cooking spray
kosher salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Cut your tortillas into 8 wedges each (I stack mine up to save time). Lay an oven safe wire rack over a baking sheet. Spread out the tortilla wedges on the wire rack. Spray with cooking spray and sprinkle with kosher salt. Bake for 10-12 minutes until crispy. Let cool slightly. Enjoy with hummus or your favorite dip! Oh, and if you are following Weight Watchers, 8 chips = 3 points…not too shabby if you ask me!

So there you have it. 2 things I am absolutely craving loving this week. What are you loving or pining after today? Share your obsessions!

– Rachel

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelzie permalink
    July 26, 2011 12:00 pm

    I absolutely love Ray bans,even though i dont own a pair but i think they look gorgeous in red,i might have to accidentely treat myself to a pair for my birthday. I own a pair of Red or Dead sunnies and to be honest,i hate them!

  2. Sandy permalink
    July 26, 2011 12:03 pm

    I love this new blog!! Good luck. Looking forward to reading it along with your Avid Appetite.

  3. July 26, 2011 1:21 pm

    Sister’s Cannon, loving this new blog!! Can’t wait for more…

  4. July 26, 2011 3:57 pm

    My beloved tortoise shell Ray Bans have broken after over three years together 😦 I’m saddened but this might mean sunglass shopping in the future! hahaha
    -Christine

Leave a Reply

