Skip to content

Beach Tunes

August 2, 2011

Post by Christine

Music and Aruba. Two of my favorite things in the world, and when the two combine it can be pure magic to me. Figuring out the perfect soundtrack to my beach vacation, though, can be a bit tricky. Since I love to read in Aruba I tend to lean toward music that is more instrumental and less vocals so I don’t get too distracted by the lyrics.

Right now I’m really into Fleet Foxes, a folk band that seems like it should be the on the soundtrack to the movie of your life. Fleet Foxes’ vocals blend into the music I’ve been loving it for my sunbathing.

The Beautiful Girls is another summer favorite because it has a great reggae feel to it without being too “hippy-ish” if you know what I mean. Whenever I listen to them I picture myself sitting in the sand with some close friends and some drinks.

Sometimes you just need some old school beach-pop like Bobby Fuller Four (and something a little less cliche then The Beach Boys). With lyrics that makes you want to jump up and shimmy on the beach, it’s the perfect music to dance to in the summertime.

So those are my recommendations for some not-so-obvious beach music that I hope some of you check out!

What are your favorite songs and/or albums for the beach?


One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelzie permalink
    August 2, 2011 12:35 pm

    I really do like,after all this time. It deffo does have a soft reggae beat,that beat reminds me of some of the UB40 songs. I actually listen to alot of Plan B when im on the beach,thats only because im obsessed with him though!

Leave a Reply

