Skip to content

Beach Reads

August 4, 2011

Posted by Rachel

I’m a pretty big reader. I am always in the middle of a book. I cherish the days in Aruba because it means lots of down time which equals lots of reading time. To me, there is really nothing better than a juicy beach read!

The perfect beach read should be light and fun, but not too fluffy. {I’ve read some of those and felt dumber for having read them}. I usually try to find a balance between can’t-put-it-down and not-too-heavy reading. It’s a challenge! Here are some of my favorites…

Then Came You, Jennifer Weiner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really enjoyed this book. It’s the story of 4 women and how there lives intertwine around having a baby – but not the old fashioned way. One can’t get pregnant, one needs some $$ and decides to donate her eggs, one needs $$ and wants to sign up for surrogacy, and one is an unhappy stepdaughter caught in the middle. I like.

Rachel’s Holiday, Marian Keys

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok I might be biased on this one 🙂 I read this book a few years ago and really loved it. Marian Keys does a great job of keeping things light yet heavy at times. She’s funny and there’s always a good romance intertwined in the story (obviously v. important for the beach).

Love the One You’re With, Emily Giffin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I adored Something Borrowed & Something Blue (both should be on your beach, or anytime, list asap if you haven’t read them). This book features new characters who are just as flawed. It all starts when the happily married Ellen runs into her ex…the one who got away. The story follows her grappling with her desire to find out if he really was the one juxtaposed against her love for her sweet husband.

Onto the more serious, yet still harboring that can’t-possibly-put-it-down nature…

A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This book is actually a follow up to The Kite Runner (though it is not a sequel). I enjoyed it so much more than The Kite Runner and I highly recommend it. Just read it. Immediately.

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Certainly on the meatier side, but once I got going with this book, I found it hard to put it down. I adored each character and the story is so rich. It follows a small English village in pre-Medieval times. A man, Tom Builder dreams of building a cathedral. The monastery, which practically owns the village is corrupt, as is the higher government. It reads like a soap opera and I like. Don’t even read the description because it doesn’t do it justice. Just read the book. Oh, and it’s one of my favorite love stories of all time.

So there you have it. Some reads that I think are perfect for the beach (or anytime, really!)

What is your must-have for a beach or vacation read? What are some of your suggestions?

Psst…for more book suggestions, check out my 10 Books for Your Summer Reading List post!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 3:20 pm

    I loved A thousand Splendid Suns. I thought Something Borrowed/Blue were better than her other books, but I’ve read them all…perfect for the beach!

Leave a Reply

