Skip to content

Finding my personal home style

August 9, 2011

Posted by Rachel

Now that our fun-filled family vacation is over (insert crying face), I have about 1.1 million things on my to do list. I love making lists and crossing things off, but I’m entering into verge-of-meltdown territory over how daunted I feel by most of it.

My biggest issue? The fact that I have made a plan to get my entire apartment painted and decorated over the next year. And by ‘over the next year’, to me, that really means by the end of 2011. My husband Shaun and I purchased our home a little over a year ago.

While the place was brand spankin’ new, it also kinda feels like a giant white box. It’s a loft, which means high ceilings, industrial piping and a lot of white walls. I love the style, but it’s so empty right now. It’s cold and mismatched with furniture from our last apartment. It’s just begging for some TLC.

I’ve been putting off any kind of decisions on the place for one major reason.

I stink at decorating.

I don’t know what I’m doing. I don’t know how to match. I need help, friends. A lot of help.

I’m not afraid of color…though I don’t know how to use it. My instinct tells me to do light, happy gray walls and then inject some color with pretty pillows, bedding, throw blankets and artwork. Some pretty things I already love…

{Etsy ikat pillow}

{west elm bedding}

{cb2 sectional}

But I’m torn. Perhaps I should go bold on the walls?

What do you think?

I need your help. Where do you go for home inspiration? What blogs do you read? Or do you find inspiration in a glossy magazine? Please send some resource ideas my way! I can’t wait to get this process started and fill you in on all the decorating as it happens!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelzie permalink
    August 9, 2011 11:54 am

    I definately think you should go bold on the walls,i find coloured walls makes it so much more homely,welcoming and cosey. Buying a colour wheel may help give you some ideas of what colours to throw togeather at least you can buy matching accessories!

  2. Justine permalink
    August 9, 2011 2:26 pm

    I’ve been obsessed with Emily Henderson’s blog recently (www.stylebyemilyhenderson.com)…..and been watching her show too (love it), trying to get ideas for my new apartment….

    This one design makeover that she did on this couple’s loft was pretty cool : http://blog.hgtv.com/design/2011/03/18/secrets-from-a-stylist-emilys-episode-3-recap/

    …probably too bold/crazy but maybe it’ll give you some ideas on how to break up the space?

    • August 9, 2011 2:51 pm

      Thanks Justine! I will definitely check these out. Also, do you use Pinterest? I’ve started using that which has helped to organize ideas and find some. If you want to join, I can send you an invite to it, just let me know!

  3. August 9, 2011 4:39 pm

    i think i love your style. i’ll just let you figure out the design and then i’ll copy, mmmmmmk?! 🙂

  4. Dee permalink
    August 11, 2011 1:34 am

    I love to decorate and make design boards on my little iPad. House app is great for inspiration. Choose real life objects and pull colors from it. Like a seashell, for instance, may have hues of ivory, peach, purples, and blues. You can Aldo pull from a painting and decorate using those colors and patterns. Bob and I just recently redid our bedroom and I used our anniversary card as an inspiration for color. Go to home goods- color coordinated and bargains galore. Good luck!

    • August 11, 2011 3:48 pm

      Thanks Dee! I do not have an iPad (sad face) but, I will definitely check out Houzz! I have heard of it before and just need to get on it 🙂

  5. Dee permalink
    August 11, 2011 1:35 am

    Darn spell check. I meant houzz app and the word also lol not Aldo …hehe

Trackbacks

  1. Ideas for my new bedroom « The Peach & The Pit Of It

Leave a Reply

