Skip to content

Perks of Unemployment

August 17, 2011

Post by Kimberly

As many of you already know, I am newly unemployed.  After graduating law school, sitting for the bar and taking a few weeks away from all things “business”.  Monday, I caved in.  I walked my butt over to the cutest West Village coffee shop that offers free wi-fi and got down to some good old job hunting.  Although the horizon looks bleak, it felt nice to stretch my legs and dive right into the search.

In the meantime, I thought about all the perks to being unemployed. Basically, everything I did yesterday.

First, I woke up from a great sleepover with my sisters, made them breakfast, stopped for some coffee and walked the streets of the East Village with Christine.

She's a genius and turned my scarf into a headband...

 We made our way across town to the hair gods, Bumble and Bumble…Stine had an appointment and I was there to soak in the gorgeous 360 degree NYC views and sip a cappuccino…

Soaking in the cool industrial vibes

Blogging from Bumble...

After Christine got a fabulous new do’, I parted ways with her and my mom to meet up with this lady for some lunch at the Blue Bell Cafe

Lian enjoying a grilled cheddar sandwich...

Lian was my roommate for the past year but has since moved out.  Luckily, she is only 4 blocks from us now so meeting up for lunch, a little shopping and lots of gossip is perfectly easy.  Since Lian is a bar tender by night, she is a great friend to have when you are looking to have a girls day on a random Tuesday in August. With both of our schedules being so busy over the summer, it was the perfect day to catch up!

Grilled Romaine Salad....deeeelish!

 Yesterday was one of those days when I thanked my lucky stars I have the time and the means to enjoy NYC on a weekday, when the city is quieter, businessmen are tucked away in their cubicles and the lines at Whole Foods are only one row deep….

Today Stine, Sandcann and I are off on a road trip to Penn State!  First stop, Bucknell (my undergrad) to make a stop at “The Freeze” (famous for their central PA ice cream) then dropping Christine off at State College to start her junior year  ::teearrr:: our baby is growing up! Then back to NJ for a whirlwind weekend of fun events, that we can’t wait to share with you!

What’s on your agenda this week?  Have you ever had weekdays off to explore new cities, away from the tourists and noise? 

P.S. if you are wondering how the curler situation ended on Monday night, here is what my hair looked like in the morning…Stay tuned for Christine’s tutorial on the easiest curling method ever! I am so hooked!

Waking up with these Suzie Q Curls....love it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 11:13 am

    Um your hair looks AMAZING! Mine did not stay so well. I am going to try it again tonight. Stine really is a creative genius. I wish I could have hung out longer yesterday – love Bumble!

  2. August 17, 2011 2:03 pm

    How funny! I am newly unemployed in NYC as well. Blogged about it last week (sangrias and nachos were involved…). Good luck finding your new gig and enjoy the perks of unemployment while you’ve got them.

  3. Lian permalink
    August 17, 2011 5:00 pm

    Yay! I made the blog!!

  4. August 17, 2011 6:44 pm

    Love that you are looking towards the positives!

Leave a Reply

