Skip to content

Bye, Bye Carbs!

August 24, 2011

Post by Kimberly

Peace out Carbs!

That’s right – see ya carbohydrates! I know this is an extreme measure, but I need something extreme going on in my life!  After a summer of dieting, binge eating, exercising sporadically and then more bingeing, I am in need of a quick jumpstart fix to the flat tire I am sporting around my waist.  As Rachel discussed yesterday, this weekend I had more than my abundance of sweets and good food, but its left me feeling bloated and unhappy today….so I felt like I needed to cut out the sugar and white flour in my life.

So I decided to take things into my own hands and go sans carbs for awhile. I usually hate extreme diets and found myself most successful when I was merely eating healthy, planning my meals and staying active.  Because my schedule is a little hectic (to say to the least) these past few weeks and the weeks to come, I figured I needed something more regimented.  Running back and forth between my NYC apartment and my parent’s house in New Jersey has taken quite the toll and I am ready to embrace a strict diet for a few weeks to come.

In order to do this, I am starting slow and going to stick to proteins, lean meats, and eggs for a few days to detox and see how I feel. I also hope to reintroduce exercise by the end of the week.  I even busted out my college soccer workouts I had tucked away in a drawer for a dark and desperate day.

Old School Workout Schedules

Unfortunately that day has come and I actually looking forward to diving back into a strict weight lifting and running routine! I’ll keep you guys posted…for now I am grateful I got to enjoy this last week….

Coffee Marshmallow Freeze!

and this over the weekend….

Delicious Engagement Cake

I’ll keep you guys posted on my progress and hopefully get around to doing a fitness post to show you guys what I once was able to do what I am doing as a workout!

Tell me – what are your jumpstart diets? Or go to workouts?  Please share cause I need yo’ help!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna Schoch permalink
    August 25, 2011 12:30 am

    Kimberly: I have been pretty much carb-free since March 2011 when I made the decision to lose weight and get in shape for my health. I am 66 years old and was let go from my job. My husband was not well, and I knew I must take care of myself. I live on good lean meats and lots of low-carb veggies. I exercise 3 times a week and have lost 60 pounds. I feel so much better than I have in so many years. I had to give away ALL of my clothes and coats, and have had to buy some new ones to get me through this interim period. I fully intend to lose another 50 pounds. Good luck to you. You girls are just beautiful. Take care of yourselves!

    • August 25, 2011 12:46 am

      Thanks for sharing Donna! I know there are many healthy ways to maintain it as a lifestyle. My mother is in the same position as you, she has lost a lot of weight and maintains a very healthy lifestyle. She orders lots of low carb breads and pastas online – My favorite pasta from the grocery store is the Low Carb Dreamfields, do you eat that?

      Do you eat sugar free candy and low carb substitutes? Or stick to the meats? Right now, I am sticking with the lean meats, cheeses and some sugar free salt water taffy and chocolate to tide over my sweet tooth!

      Best of luck and congratulations on the weight loss! You must feel amazing!!

      • Donna Schoch permalink
        August 25, 2011 10:28 pm

        I do feel amazing, and am told I look amazing, too! I’m not used to that! I don’t do breads or pastas, and both are a passion of mine. It’s so hard at times, but I’d rather have a bite or two of good bread, or a cookie, or cake, than do a substitute, so that’s why I don’t do any sugar-free or low carb foods. Checking labels for hidden “bad boys” is time consuming. I’m really sticking with the fresh veggies and farm-raised local meats. Boy, do I have cravings, though! Right now I’m fighting salt and crunchy. I want nuts more than anything. So I settle for a piece of cheese and it helps get rid of the craving.
        Please give your mother my best wishes, and thank you for your support and nice comments!
        Donna

  2. August 26, 2011 1:27 am

    Hey Kimberly–good for you for making a change! Congrats!
    I’ve tried the no-carb thing before… I can’t go cold turkey. Too many social events that just leave me feeling sorry for myself. I’ve become more light on simple carbs, so that I can celebrate as I see fit.
    My go-to workouts are 1) pushing myself seriously hard in spin class (since it’s still easy on the joints) and 2) all the hard Pilates exercises I know. But I’ll do both of those in a day. 🙂 And then some. I’m kind of addicted. 😉
    Good luck!

    • August 26, 2011 2:21 am

      It is SO hard to go cold turkey. it’s definitely not a permanent thing, but more of a jumpstart! trying to get down a few lbs to add to the motivation? I hope it kicks in soon! I need to get back to spin, I agree its so hard yet easy on the joints!!

      I need to get back to that “addicted” phase I was in! Thanks for the motivation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

