Skip to content

Unplugged

August 30, 2011

Post by Kimberly

After surviving the hurricane over the weekend, I am happily back in my apartment in New York City.  I commuted back in with my Dad yesterday morning and was happy {and unsurprised} to see that New York was exactly how I left it.  You would never know that hours before, the subways were down, people were evacuated and a natural disaster was upon us.  As far as I could tell, the tourists had their faces in maps, the businessmen were grumbling into their cell phones and I was still a 25 year old, law school grad, with no job, and no life plan…..urghh, I mean, I was happy to be back at my apartment!

My parents lost power over the weekend due to a fallen tree across our road.

Fallen tree outside my parents house

While it was “exciting” for about three hours (and one full night’s sleep, with NO interruptions), it lost its appeal when darkness fell Sunday night  and my parents, my boyfriend and I were forced to sit at the table, drink a few Captain and Diet Cokes and play some scrabble.  It was rough.

Questionable word used = Stax!?

Things got ugly real fast…Sandcann came out of the gate with 70 points.  Used all 7 letters.  Let’s just say, the rest of us spent the rest of the game trying to stay within 50 points of her….She won. By a lot.  The worst part of the whole storm was trying to keep Chloe, our almost 14 year old cockapoo, calm!  I eventually got her to sleep during the storm by restraining her on the couch and petting her belly until she fell into a milkbone induced sleep.

Irene ain't got nothing on me!

Oh well! I was happy to be back with some electricity yesterday, I got to catch up on the news, emails and blogs! But sitting in my apartment, I knew I needed to step away from the computer and unplug for awhile. It was the most beautiful day in NYC and so, I enjoyed a leisurely stroll through Central Park with Lian.  We soaked up the cool breeze and strong sun and spent many hours chatting.  It was glorious. (With all the gabbing we were doing, I failed to snap a picture! Bad Blogger!) While I feel for those affected by the storm, post hurricane always brings the best weather…and I am happy to bask in it all week! Once September hits, I feel like I am gonna have to hit the ground running with this job search, so I am enjoying every last second of August!

  Let’s keep our fingers crossed that my parents get power back soon!  We are planning all sorts of delicious creations to conjure up for a party this weekend and I don’t want anything standing in the way of my baking!

Happy Sunshine Peaches!

Share your hurricane stories here! What are you guys enjoying this week? What are your plans for the last week in August? 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 9:48 am

    Oh Mom and her competitiveness! And poor Chloers must have been a wreck. Glad you guys were all holed up together and that you are back to ‘civilization’ now! You are so right – the weather this week is unbelievable!

  2. Sandy permalink
    August 30, 2011 2:05 pm

    Chloe the defiant dog!! What a face. Power back up. Never won a scrabble game before, so things were kind of good.

  3. shesmyhusband permalink
    August 30, 2011 3:20 pm

    Glad you all were ok! I am in NC, more inland and we didn’t receive much rain at all! Just harsh winds and gloomy skies. I’m glad I stumbled upon this blog!

  4. Herb permalink
    August 31, 2011 3:00 pm

    Sandy actually cheated at Scrabble – but without power it was so dark I couldn’t catch her

Leave a Reply

