Skip to content

Ideas for my new bedroom

September 19, 2011

Post by Rachel

A few weeks ago I posted about my {lack of} personal style when it comes to decorating my home. It’s been over a year since we moved in, and I’m determined to get this place painted and semi-decorated before our Christmas tree goes up during the first weekend in December. I have a lot of work to do, but I’m ready!

I started by trolling Pinterest for ideas. I tried to find colors that would work with some pieces that I already have. For me, the easiest way to visualize the whole thing was to create a simple mood board of my ideas and color palette. Of course this is subject to change, but this is the direction I’m going in!

I started by picking the wall color. Based on my ideas for the rest of the place, I decided that a neutral but bold color would be nice for the bedroom. I am a huge fan of Behr paint and Castle Path is seemingly a nice greige that will not only work with gray tones, but also brown (which is already in my curtains). With the wall color in tow, I chose some bright color pops that would work with a greige background. Bright teal like Behr’s Embellished Blue, happy yellow like Behr’s Citrus and classic bright white should do the trick and keep the room from feeling drab.

For the lighting fixture, I’m thinking something simple and also on the neutral side. I love a simple pattern or a solid gray would work. An extra wide gray shade will look gorgeous with a soft diffuser. We have super high ceilings, but I think a wide shade will bring the room down a bit.

I adore this yellow and white striped duvet set from West Elm. Pretty, simple and not too girly either (because Shaun just says no to anything remotely floral).

For the curtains, I already have them. I knew that I’d want some wall color going on, so I chose opaque white curtains from West Elm from the get-go. Since we have 14 foot ceilings, my incredibly skilled mom sewed on some gorgeous patterned fabric to make them long enough to fit (and to add some pretty, custom flair to boot)!

My idea is to bring in some fun teal and yellow pillows like these gorg chevron ones that I tracked down on Etsy. I already own the bright, burnt orange throw from Ikea and I think it fits nicely in this pallet.

As for the rug, we already have a brown jute rug that I think can stay if we go in this direction. It’s slightly different than the one shown, but close enough so you get the idea!

Lastly, I plan to install very tall Ikea built-ins on either side of our bed. Storage is a major issue in our bedroom (we share 1 reach-in closet), and these thin cabinets would be perfect for shoe and sweater storage!

So there you have it. My big bedroom plans.

What do you think? Have you done any big room makeovers lately? Do tell!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 1:37 pm

    I looove this color combo, rachel! I’ve been pinning my little heart out making plans for my new apartment. 🙂 I can’t wait to get started after I move!

  2. September 19, 2011 10:04 pm

    seriously you did a great job pulling together some ideas, colors etc. I think it’s perfect. Now just remember to show us a picture of your finished look!

  3. September 20, 2011 11:53 am

    fun! so well thought out! I’m really into the Chevron print these days.

Leave a Reply

