Skip to content

Getting back on the {exercise} wagon

September 26, 2011

Post by Rachel

I have a confession to make.

It’s been about 6 weeks since my last workout.

It’s true.

I always go through phases with exercising. There will be weeks at a time where I can’t dig up the motivation to do anything aside from my walk to and from work. Then I’ll have a stretch where exercise is a priority and I go to the gym 4 or 5 times per week. This winter I even ran a few 5K’s!

So what gives?

To be honest, I associate exercise with torture. Even though it makes me feel better after every workout and I know that in the long run it’s good for me and a necessary part of life. I know these things. But I still have a very difficult time getting motivated to simply get it done.

I’ve been struggling with my weight a bit lately. I want to make the chance. I’m still not excited about getting back to the gym, but I’ve come up with a few things to keep in mind to make sure that I get myself there.

I’m running a 5K on Sunday.

Woops! Kinda left this until the last minute. I plan to get a few runs in the week and hope for the best. I’m sad to say that I’m in such bad shape that I probably won’t be able to run the whole thing. But its a wake up call!

Seeing photos of myself.

It certainly makes a difference in how I feel about myself. When I photos in which I’m just not happy with my physical appearance, it makes me want to make the change to a more active lifestyle!

My cousin’s wedding in a few weeks.

I’d love to comfortable fit into my dress. ‘Nuff said.

The holidays are coming.

And I know there will be a lot of eating. It’s just the way that I roll. So that means that eating will need to be kept in check and it will need to be balanced out with exercise!

So that’s where I’m at right now when it comes to getting myself on track to exercising! Wish me some luck! 🙂

Questions of the Day:

How do you get yourself motivated for exercise?

What are your favorite workout tips?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 10:48 am

    It’s so tough! sounds like you are already on the right track. I always just bring my gym clothes with me to work and I plan my workouts the week before. I take many of the same classes with the same people and if I’m gone..they notice! accountability right there! don’t be too hard on yourself. good idea to get it going before the holidays…there’s just so many good things to eat!

  2. September 26, 2011 3:38 pm

    I am right there with you! My best advice or what works for me, is printing out a blank calendar and writing in my workouts for at least the next two weeks! I take into account my schedule, but I am usually good at sticking to the plan! In this case, since the wedding is in 4 weeks, I will be doing it up through then!

Leave a Reply

