Skip to content

Sew What?

October 3, 2011

Post by Rachel

I’ve always wanted to learn how to sew.

I feel like it’s such a cool life skill to have. I always remember my mom making our Halloween costumes growing up and her fancy sewing machine and table. I didn’t think it was ever a ‘cool’ thing to openly say that I wanted to learn to sew, but now that I’m…ahem…29….I feel like there is no better time that the present. I want to make blankets and table runners and someday, Halloween costumes for my children.

I decided that now is the time. So I mentioned it to my mom and even added this goal to my 30 Things by 30 Years list of goals. I meant business!

My parents got me a beginner’s sewing machine for my birthday.

It sat in their basement since July and finally on Saturday I made a date with my mom for her to teach me how to sew. I decided that I wanted to make an autumn table runner, so we headed out to pick out some fabric!

In order to learn more, we decided to do a {modern} quilted runner and picked out 3 pretty fabrics.

I started by learning to thread the machine and doing a few practice seams on some fabric scraps that Mom had lying around.

 

I sewed my first seam! And obviously look hot while doing it {sorry I didn’t get dressed up or made up for you}.

keepin' it real

The runner is still in progress, but I’m hoping to finish it this weekend. I will keep you posted on the finished product!

I can’t wait to use it. I think it will instantly transform my house to fall. That and some pumpkin spice cake 😉

Question of the Day:

What life skills do you want to learn?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 8:09 am

    Awesome! Sewing was a specialty of my mom’s as well, and I think that I should also learn. The fabrics you picked look really pretty, can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. October 3, 2011 8:56 pm

    Ah so awesome!! I heard you were learning to make sauce also 🙂

Leave a Reply

