Skip to content

I’m Canning in the Rain

October 4, 2011

Post by Christine

I spent this weekend rolling around in cash. Yes, you read that right, I rolled around in cold, hard cash.

I spent the weekend canning on intersections to raise money for kids with cancer. 230 people from my organization went all around Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York to can for hours on end.

We canned from 5:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Saturday and canned for the morning on Sunday. Oh, and did I mention that it down poured all weekend?

my friend Griff sipping on some hot chocolate

Being in the rain all weekend was pretty grueling but there were definite bright spots like a church sponsored unlimited continental breakfast with fresh blueberry pancakes and the fact that we raised a TON of money. So much money, in fact, that we stayed up to past 5:30 a.m counting all of it.

Counting money for that long, my friends makes you a little bit delirious. In case you needed proof…

this happened. And as if you needed a closer look.

Yup, sometimes you need to just put $10,000 dollars between your butt 🙂

I haven’t slept in a few days now, but it’s all worth it because I know that I am directly helping raise money that will go to cancer research and pay for doctors appointments and treatments for children.

Next week I’ll let you know how much we made. I don’t officially even know yet, which is why I am staying up late once again in order to get the phone call about our total. I’m super excited and can’t wait to share the news with everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 6:15 am

    Awesome, and so worthwhile! I need to do something in my own community!

  2. October 5, 2011 9:32 am

    so proud of you Stine Bean, as always. This made me tear up a little bit 🙂 You are doing working toward an amazing cause! I can’t wait to celebrate at THON with you this year!

  3. October 5, 2011 10:00 am

    Awesome!! That’s a lotttaa cash! Can’t wait for THON!

Leave a Reply

