Skip to content

Hand Picked Peaches

October 6, 2011

Post by Kimberly

Although our Thursday posts are usually short and light hearted with a bunch of links, I couldn’t ignore the news and not comment on the tragedy that is the passing of Steve Jobs.  When I heard that Jobs was stepping down as CEO a few months ago my stomach dropped because we all knew what was inevitably around the corner.

When I came home last night and made my way up to my room, I heard my mom from downstairs say that Steve Jobs had died.  I honestly felt sick.  My sisters and I are through and through Apple people.  I can’t imagine going back to a PC or life without my iPhone.  I know there are millions of us out there touched by this visionary who truly changed the world we live in.  When I think about the way people’s faces light up when they walk into the playground that is the Apple store or gush over their iPads as they “facetime” with loved ones across the country or all the Pixar movies that changed my childhood, it brings tears to my eyes, because none of this would be possible with Steve Jobs. I just wanted to take a moment to recognize what a truly innovative, life changing and brilliant man he was and how terribly sad it is that his life was taken from us too soon. I keep thinking over and over what a great mind we lost and asking, what else could he have done? But alas, I know that I will give my Macbook, iPhone, iPad and iPod shuffle (yeah…i said I was an Apple junkie!) a nice big hug (and maybe even a snuggle in my bed…) tonight just to show my respect. 🙂

Now, for the fun stuff, ENJOY!

How adorable and talented are these girls!?

I cannot WAIT to give these A-mazing chocolate chip cookies a test drive in the near future.

I adore these DIY magazine holders from IHeart Organizing

In case you are starting your Halloween party planning early, here are some spookily awesome ideas!

Tribute to Steve Jobs – old school Apple screen

What are you guys digging this week?  How are you mourning the loss of the legend? 

(apple photos from here and here)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 9:30 am

    Beautiful tribute Kimmi! I felt sick the moment I heard as well, and even this morning, I can’t stop from welling up every time I think about what a loss this world just suffered 😦

  2. October 6, 2011 10:36 am

    this is really nice. we lost a true visionary yesterday

Leave a Reply

