Skip to content

Getting ready for the ABQ

October 10, 2011

Post by Rachel

In just over a week, the other peaches and I will be heading to Albuquerque, NM for our cousin’s wedding. We are SO excited to celebrate Chris & Kate with our whole family and at a destination wedding (just like mine!). Since I’m a lunatic when I travel, I put together a little mood board of the kinds of things I’ll want to take on the trip. Of course I’ll have my cocktail dress and kick ass sparkly shoes for the main event, but casual yet chic style is what I’m going for throughout the rest of the long weekend.

I plan to get my shop on this week as well as go through what I already own that I will take with me (like my cowboy boots that I purchased a number of years ago…still going strong!)

Clockwise from top right:

I am always a fan of blazers and this orangey red one from Forever 21 is perfect to serve as a light jacket with sophisticated style throughout the trip. I love it with a simple white tee underneath. And for $28, you really can’t go wrong.

I have been obsessing over every color in the Essie collection this fall. This camel-colored Case Study will be the perfect light yet rich nail color.

A good book for the trip is a must. A couple of flights each way will offer lots of reading. I recommend something easy, fun and addictive, like Karen Marie Moning’s MacKayla Lane series. I’m hooked as we speak.

A trip to New Mexico won’t be complete without some sort of turquoise colored item. Though I can’t wait to get my hands on the real thing once I’m there, this gorgeous necklace from Anthropologie will do the job. I adore this against the red blazer.

Since I’m a pop culture freak, I’ll be packing my Breaking Bad DVD’s. The story follows meth cooks in Albuquerque, NM and this is the best show on TV, in my opinion. Oh and I have a major crush on Jesse Pinkman (pictured, real name Aaron Paul). I just want to hug him.

No trip to anywhere is complete without gorgeous dark skinny jeans. I like 7 for all mankind.

We’re heading to the southwest and so cowboy boots are a must. I already own a pair and cannot wait to break them out for the trip!

I definitely will not be heading anywhere until I get a haircut. On Thursday, Kimberly and I will be hitting up Bumble & Bumble to get our hairs did.

A good purse is paramount for travel. I’d pick a tan crossbody bag, like this Fossil Mini Turnlock. It’s so cute!

I love oversized, statement rings. Since these are fun, I try not to break the bank with them. This cute and simple ring from Charlotte Russe is perfect to go with all outfits throughout the week!

Lastly, I must own this leopard print belt from J. Crew. It’s so subtle that it could really go with anything. So adorable!

So there you have it. My ABQ mood board!

Question of the Day:

What are your travel fashion tips?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

