Skip to content

Home-made Sloppy Joes

October 11, 2011

Post by Kimberly

I think that the change of seasons always stirs up my desire to break out my favorite recipe books and cook up some treats.  So this week I am gonna break out one of my all time favorite recipes I made way back in July!

Three cheers for my first recipe post!  I think I deserve an extra cheer because a mere 3 years ago I couldn’t even boil pasta…so I hope you enjoy this sloppy joe recipe as much as I did!  I know its a keeper that I will be going back to time and again!

Ground Turkey Sloppy Joe’s

(adapted from Real Simple Cookbook “Meals Made Easy” Not-So-Sloppy-Joes)

Holy yumm...I love this free gift I received in the mail!

*Makes 4-5 sloppy joes depending on whose eating them

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 6-ounce can tomato paste
  • 1.5 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 4 hamburger buns, toasted
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
It may seem like a lot of ingredients, but once you get started it’s so simple!
1. Heat the oil in a large sauce pan over medium heat.  Add the onion, garlic and bell pepper.  Cook until softened, about 3 minutes.
2. Add the ground turkey and cook, crumbling it with a spoon, until no trace of pink remains (about 7 minutes).
3. Spoon off and discard excess fat.  Stir in the tomato paste, chili powder, cumin, black pepper, cinnamon and salt.  Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the sauce thickens slightly.

4. Spoon the turkey onto the buns and top with the cheddar and a dollop of sour cream!

"I made 'em extra sloppy for you!"

5. Dig in and Enjoy!

Sloppy Joe to the face? Don't mind if I do!

There you have it…I will be making these again very soon!  They are delicious, light and so easy to make!

What are you guys stirring up these days?  Does your motivation to cook change with the seasons? 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 3:50 pm

    i love sloppy joe’s! this sounds fantastic 🙂 oh and where did you get a copy of that Real Simple?! I want one!

Leave a Reply

