Skip to content

Eating Through the Holidays

December 5, 2011

Post by Rachel

I love the Christmas season. To me, it really is the most wonderful time of the year.

I do not, however, love the inevitable weight gain that plagues me just about every holiday season. The sad part for me is that after last Christmas, I was incredibly unhappy with the weight that I had gained. The even sadder part? I am still at that same weight. And this holiday season? I will end up completely miserable if I gain even more weight on top of what I am now. {sad face}

For me, this is a problem. I have tried exercising, I have tried doing Weight Watchers. But to be honest, I’ve never really let myself do these things in full force. I haven’t done them for more than a week and so results are fleeting.

Immediately following Thanksgiving weekend (where I ate a whole lot of this):

I signed back into my Weight Watchers account after a few months away. I am still paying $17 a month for it, so that should be another motivating factor. I’m happy to report that this morning marks week 2 and I feel good about heading into another week! The weekend was tough, but staying at home for most of it helped enormously.

My strategy for the holiday season? Especially when it comes to cookies, dips and cakes galore? I will only allow myself to indulge at a weekend party. I figure I can save my points for the week and eat whatever I want (within reason of course). There is no reason to go overboard during the week and so that will make yummy holiday eats on a Saturday night even more special. I also plan to hit the gym 4 times per week, which I also started last week. I feel great! I already crossed one day off this morning, so that is exciting 🙂

So there’s my plan for keeping some of the holiday weight off throughout the season.

What are your tips and tricks for over the next month?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 5, 2011 2:02 pm

    Yay for getting back to the gym! I’m gonna try and get to my hoola hoop class tonight and hoop for a couple of hours so I’m excited!!

Leave a Reply

