Skip to content

White Chocolate Chip Red Velvet Cookies

December 6, 2011

Post by Kimberly

When Rachel asked me to participate in her Virtual Cookie Swap, I was SO excited! I don’t really consider myself a “blogger” yet or a food blogger for that matter, but I was more than happy to let my sweet tooth guide me and create a yummy batch of cookies! All of the participants of the cookie swap are rounded up over at The Avid Appetite, feel free to check out all the holiday inspired cookies!

For my cookie, I knew I wanted something new and sweet. Very sweet. I have seen red velvet chocolate chip cookies floating around the blog world and Pinterest so I was excited to have an excuse to make (and proceed to eat) an entire batch and so the white chocolate chip red velvet with white chocolate buttercream frosting (say that 3x fast!) was born!

White Chocolate Chip Red Velvet Cookies w/ White Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

*Adapted from How Sweet It Is

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

What You’ll Need:

1 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoon vanilla

3 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup cocoa powder

1 cup white chocolate chips

Red food coloring (recommend gel)

For the Icing:

*Adapted from Wilton recipe

9 oz. white baking chocolate

1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening

1/2 cup butter

How to Reach Deliciousness:

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. Cream butter and sugars together. Add egg and vanilla and combine until smooth.

3.  Add red food coloring.

4. Stir in cocoa, flour, baking soda and salt until combined. Fold in white chocolate chips.

5. If need, add more food coloring.

6. Scoop out dough and bake for 10-12 minutes.

7. Allow to cool and apply icing with sprinkles of your choice to decorate!

For the Frosting:

1. Cream butter and shortening with mixer.  Add vanilla.

2. Gradually add sugar, one cup at a time. Make sure to mix thoroughly.

3. Once all sugar is added, add milk and beat at medium speed, until fluffy.

4. Microwave chocolate with 1/4 cup milk in microwavable bowl on Medium-high for 1-2 minutes; stir chocolate halfway during cooking time.

5. Beat in chocolate

I am not going to lie, I have to play around with this recipe more.  The cookies I made at first seemed dry and the red color did not come through once the cocoa was added.  I would recommend trying a gel food coloring, I used liquid because it is what I had on hand.  Because of their “not so hot”  aka brown appearance I decided to add the icing and boy, am I happy I did this…the icing took these from mediocre to “OMG I have to bring these to our friends this weekend!” Needless to say they were gone within 20 minutes of arriving at said friends apartment.

I am so happy to be part of this swap and can’t wait to try out all the other fun recipes!

What cookies are your loving this holiday season? 

Pin It if you feel like it 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 10:16 am

    Kimmi, I’m so happy you made these! Frosting really does make everything better 🙂 Can’t wait for more holiday baking!

  2. December 6, 2011 11:39 am

    “How to Reach Deliciousness”–love it!! These cookies look scrumptious and the colors are so perfect for the holidays. Plus I’m a sucker for cookies with icing–call it my superhuman sweet tooth, but to me it makes any cookie just a little bit better! Great contribution to the cookie swap. 🙂

  3. December 6, 2011 8:56 pm

    YUM! My hubby has been begging me to make Red Velvet. This might just be that perfect recipe! They are also so festive! Can’t wait to test these out.

  4. December 6, 2011 11:05 pm

    these look like the ultimate christmas cookie! so many delicious flavours, all piled into one 🙂 awesome!

Leave a Reply

